ADVERTISEMENT

Elements of a failed out-of-court settlement mean nothing to a judge...

zipp

Elite Member
Jun 26, 2001
(I'm not a lawyer, and lawyers should comment...)

There are remarks among fans about what U of L has already admitted to the NCAA. It's my understanding that under normal circumstances, voluntary admissions, penalties, etc. by either side have no significance if this matter ends up in court because it couldn't be resolved outside.

I doubt that the merits of the underlying case get argued. But in U of L's defense, they don't have to fear any prior admissions to the NCAA of responsibility or wrongdoing, esp. when a lower or different standard of proof has been applied, e.g., guilty until proven innocent. If the need arises, U of L could argue that it was accepting responsibility to be expedient or receive lighter punishment. Once those conditions no longer apply, U of L's defense resets or starts over...

The punishment seems super excessive IMO. The post season ban was already a HUGE thing. That's absolutely the worst thing a school like U of L can be hit with outside of the program being completely shut down. Think of all the schools that have gone through much worse shit recently and come through it a lot better off than Louisville has.

I've said it many times though, vacated wins are the most meaningless punishment the NCAA can hand out. Fans retain memories, players keep rings, gamblers keep their winnings, it's preserved on video, etc. If they decision doesn't get overturned, who cares? You guys won that title on the floor and millions of people watched it. Good luck convincing everyone it never happened.

Reactions: awf