ADVERTISEMENT

The Louisville Raptors?

CardX

Five-Star Poster
May 29, 2001
I'm not a huge proponent of the NBA to Louisville. We'd be a small market with the inability to fully support a franchise, but given travel restrictions to Canada and vice versa, if the Raptors want to hole up in Louisville for the upcoming NBA season, I'm all for giving it a test run. Also, I figure it would be Issel making the phone calls, not Bridgeman. But, leave it to a Card to do a Cats' job.

The Louisville Raptors?
One big focus for next season has been the status of the Toronto Raptors. Due to the United States’ handling of COVID-19, travel into Canada has been banned.

MLB’s Toronto Blue Jays played their home games in Buffalo, and the Toronto FC of the MLS played its games in East Hartford, Connecticut.

The Raptors face a similar dilemma, and league sources tell Yahoo Sports one alternate location that has been broached is Louisville, Kentucky. Former NBA player and successful businessman Junior Bridgeman has been in contact with the NBA, considering Louisville has the KFC Yum! Center that is NBA-ready.

No decision has been made yet, as it’s on a laundry list of topics to be discussed on the upcoming call, along with the collective bargaining agreement, competitive formats for next season and an update on the social justice coalition.

Louisville wouldn’t be first in line in the event of relocation or expansion; Seattle is. But it seems to be an easier sell to get the Raptors in Louisville for a short period — or even sharing a current NBA market, according to sources.

How this goes with the league’s objectives of getting fans in seats is an interesting proposition if the Raptors would play home games in, say, New York or Chicago, given there’s no natural fan base there.